Welcome to the RVW Trust

supporting British music since 1956

Corona Virus

It is inevitable that for the immediate future performances will be cancelled or postponed. If you are a current grant recipient, please keep us updated as to your plans and get in touch to discuss the payment of your grant. The Trust office is working remotely and we will do our best to respond to you as soon as we can.

The RVW Trust is one of the most significant sources of funding for contemporary and recent music in the UK. The trust was established by the composer Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958) and it continues to fulfil the purposes he intended by supporting the work of British composers.

What we do

We support the performance, creation and recording of music by professional British composers of current or recent generations (or those entering the profession).

Applications from individuals, ensembles, organisations and recording companies are considered three times per year. The deadline for our next meeting is 1 September 2020.

How to apply

Postgraduate studyVaughan Williams Bursaries

We award bursaries each year to British composers who have been accepted to study composition on Masters’ courses at British universities or conservatoires. The next deadline for applications will be 1 May 2021 (for courses starting in September 2021). Only digital applications will be considered.

Find out more

Latest news

Lord Armstrong of Ilminster 1927-2020

We are sad to announce the death of one of our founding trustees, Lord Armstrong of Ilminster on 3 April 2020 at the age of 93.

Probably best known as an eminent civil servant, he was private secretary to three Prime Ministers and Cabinet Secretary from 1979-1987, Robert Armstrong was also a true music lover and one of our last direct links to our founder Ralph Vaughan Williams who he first met in 1951 and knew well.

He served as a Trustee of the RVWT from its inception in 1956 and throughout that time offered sage and generous counsel. We will miss him enormously.

Vaughan Williams Bursaries

Congratulations to the five young composers who have been awarded 2019 Vaughan Williams Bursaries for Postgraduate Study.

Each composer receives £4000 towards their Masters studies in composition. From left to right they are Harriet Grainger (Royal College of Music), Thomas Vaughan Jones (Royal Academy of Music), Luciano Williamson (Royal Welsh Academy of Music and Drama), Joanna Ward (Guildhall School of Music and Drama) and James Batty (Royal Academy of Music).

Find out more about the VW Bursaries